EURO 2012 Fantasy Tips: Day 10

It’s Day 10 of the EUROs coming up, and it sees the Group of Death in action, with all 4 teams standing a chance of qualifying from this group.

Goalkeeper

I reckon that the goalkeeper to pick from this group would have to be Manuel Neuer. The Germans still have this game to play for (worse case scenario does indeed see them being knocked out), and their defence has been really sturdy in the tournament so far, so I reckon that Manuel Neuer will be the man that you guys should pick for your fantasy teams.

My Pick: Manuel Neuer

Defenders

Lots of really capable players here, but I reckon that Denmark will do well to keep Germany out, and Daniel Agger and Kjaer will be able to stop Mario Gomez in the final round of matches tonight. Those two are my picks along with Holland’s Heitinga, as Portugal’s Ronaldo and team in general haven’t been particularly good scorers in the tournament so far (the 3 goals against Denmark don’t count, most were result of terrible defending on Denmark’s part), so I think that Holland should be able to keep the clean sheet (or restrict Portugal to a solitary goal) tonight.

My Picks: Heitinga, Agger, Kjaer

Midfielders

Creativity in the plenties here. I think that a wildcard pick would be Portugal’s Raul Meireles. A confirmed starter, meaning he will directly earn you points, and also a decent passer of the ball as well. Khedira has done well in the tournament so far, and I expect Sneijder to weave out some magic in this final round of matches.

My Picks: Sneijder, Meireles, Khedira

Strikers

In my eyes, you can’t go wrong with Germany’s Mario Gomez. Furthermore, Nicklas Bendtner might be someone you consider adding to your squad. My third recommendation would be Netherlands’ Robin van Persie – as I think he should be able to knock in a goal or two tonight.

My Picks: Sneijder, Bendtner, Mario Gomez

As seen on Neutrals’ Football Blog

Leave a Reply

